The Friends Along the Way

Standard

The TTC and PCOS journey is a long a tumultous ride, one which gives you many turns and bumps and ups and downs but there is one wonderful blessing that I have received along the way, the blessing of new friendships.  Through my journey I have always been open about my condition and the treatments my husband and I were going through beccause I have always been an open person and this time it has really paid off.  I have met a number of women along this winding road going through various stages of infertility, some I had known for quite some time and had no idea, others I have recently met.  There is nothing like being able to share your story with a close friend who understands exactly what you are going through, to pick up the phone or send a text when you just need another woman to talk to.  A couple of months ago one of my dear friends was going through an FET (Frozen Embryo Transfer) on the same day I was awaiting the results of my BETA blood test.  Unforuantely my test was negative and her embryo did not survive the thaw but having her support all day made such a difference, and I swear I cried more for her lost embryo than I did over my negative pregnancy test after a double IUI.  She and I are currently going to be on similair cycles for a round of IVF (my first and her second fresh cycle) and we can not wait to go through this together because it is just so nice to have someone to talk to and share your experiences with.  Maybe we will also fulfill our current dream of going through the preganancy experience together. 😉

I also have my inspiration, a close family member who after years of TTC with multiple rounds of IVF inclduing surrogacy conceived naturally, out of the blue, and has just given birth to her third child.  I often think of her and tell myself that if she can do it so can I.  Miracles happen every day.

There are so many others who I have learned of along the way.  My best friend’s sister, work colleagues, my husband’s work colleagues, a couple of my employees’ daughter’s, the list can go on.  Some with PCOS and others with unexplained infertility.  I have learned a few things from this experience.  1.) It is okay to speak up because you never know who may need you to listen, and 2.) You really never realize how many women infertility does effect (you see the statistics but until you live them it is hard to belive); and 3.) By speaking up and speaking out you never know the wonderful friends you may meet along the way.

About thepcosandinfertilityjourney

For almost two years I have felt so down and alone trying to maintain a normal and happy life since I realized that my husband and I would struggle to create a family. I began to second guess everything in my life, have I done the right things, made the right choices, is it my job, is it where I live, what is it and what can I do to make it better? Then, one night while laying in bed it hit me, and the words just started flowing. I have always loved writing and when I was little always wanted to be an author but never had the inspiration of something to write about; now I do. I am going to share my story, my struggles, my hopes, my fears, my triumphs in the hope that it will help someone else going through the same rollercoaster that I am the way many books, blogs, and chats have helped me cope. I will share with you how I am determined to make sure that one of my life’s dreams are not shot down and the obstacles I go through to get there.

Leave a Reply

