Don’t Ignore…

Standard

A tribute to National Infertility Awareness Week 2012

 

So many aspects of infertility are ignored by the general public, so why do so many within the infertility community ignore his or her own problems and suffer in silence?  Although many try to understand what an infertile could possibly be going through no one really understands, except someone else suffering the same fate as you.  But how do you know if the person standing next you, or the one you cross paths with at work everyday, or even a family member, is dealing with the struggles of infertility unless you speak up about it?

My husband and I have officially been TTC (trying to conceive) for two years now and I have been diagnosed with PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome) for almost as long.  My husband also suffers from MFI (Male Factor Infertility).  I don’t recall a time when I ignored anything to do with my fertility, or lack of.  I was open with everyone around me as soon as I knew that we would have troubles conceiving and through my honesty I have learned of women in my life who had problems themselves and have become a go-to person for other people who learn of a friend or family member who is struggling with infertility.  I have also embraced beautiful new friendships from women who were once acquaintances or colleagues that have been suffering from infertility as well.

Unfortunately I have crossed paths with women who find the pain of infertility too unbearable that she does not speak of it to anyone and does not want anyone to know, even the closest of family members.  The consequences of infertility are too great to bear alone.  Ignoring your pain, your shame, your fears, will not make them go away and will not make it any easier for those around you to cope or help you but only isolate them further because they will not know how to act around you.  I feel so blessed to have such wonderful and supportive family and friends to help us through our infertility journey.  Sunday evening my husband and I were at his parent’s home for a casual Sunday dinner when my father-in-law pulled out a newspaper article (he is notorious for saving newspaper articles for all of us relating to items he thinks we should or would want to, read about) written about a couple in the area who recently gave birth to twins via IVF and National Infertility Awareness Week.  The simple gesture moved my heart to tears and reminded me exactly why I have never ignored our struggles or the family, friends, and resources available to support us.

Infertility is one of the most painful experiences a woman, man, or couple can go through so why do so many of us ignore so many aspects of it?  Get out, be heard and make yourself heard.  Do not ignore infertility and hide it away deep inside to be a struggle only you bear.  Stand up and fight for our rights, for our needs, for who we are and what we stand for.

Don’t ignore…the ache in your heart

Don’t ignore…the partner at your side

Don’t ignore…the friend with an open ear

Don’t ignore…the family member with a consoling hug

Don’t ignore…the woman sitting next to you at the fertility clinic

Don’t ignore…the tears you fight back

Don’t ignore…the laughter that should be let out

Don’t ignore…the help and resources available

Don’t ignore…the opportunity to educate someone

Don’t ignore…who you really are

Don’t ignore…who you were before

Don’t ignore…infertility.

 

For information regarding infertility please visit the following sites:

 

About thepcosandinfertilityjourney

For almost two years I have felt so down and alone trying to maintain a normal and happy life since I realized that my husband and I would struggle to create a family. I began to second guess everything in my life, have I done the right things, made the right choices, is it my job, is it where I live, what is it and what can I do to make it better? Then, one night while laying in bed it hit me, and the words just started flowing. I have always loved writing and when I was little always wanted to be an author but never had the inspiration of something to write about; now I do. I am going to share my story, my struggles, my hopes, my fears, my triumphs in the hope that it will help someone else going through the same rollercoaster that I am the way many books, blogs, and chats have helped me cope. I will share with you how I am determined to make sure that one of my life’s dreams are not shot down and the obstacles I go through to get there.

One response »

Leave a Reply

