Let the IVF Journey Begin

Standard

Friday evening was day 1 of my Lupron injections.  The injection itself wasn’t bad, just some mild burning as the medication sunk in, but it was the after effects that had me quickly remembering just how evil hormone injections can be.  After my injection I went back outside to continue working on my planter garden (it has been such a beautiful week and weekend to work outside!) and as I was bending and shoveling dirt into pots my ovaries decided to yell at me a bit so I quickly finished up what I could then relaxed for the rest of the night.  Saturday morning I woke up with a horrible migraine.  I took Tylenol to help with the symptoms and dreamed of caffeine which normally helps a lot with my migraines.  By mid-afternoon the pain was so bad I actually took a nap, I NEVER take naps.  Not that I don’t want to take a nap but my mind usually wont shut down enough for me to accomplish one but I actually managed on Saturday.  Thankfully, I woke up this morning with only a mild headache which I’m hoping will go away soon.  But, all in all it is worth every bit if I can get one step closer to fulfiling our family dreams. 🙂

I do have to admit something though, and maybe some of you feel the same.  I realized on Friday how I am happiest when I am actually going through treament.  Yup, I said it folks; I am happiest when I am jabbing needles in myself and getting blood withdrawn and an ultrasound daily.  I suppose the happy thoughts are because I am actually making progress and doing something about the situation I am in as opposed to sitting around just mourning for my empty womb.  I am a total do-er so when I am not actually doing something progressive I feel unstoppable.  I hate the times between treatments which can be long and tenuous for me (and many women with PCOS) because we are so prone to Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome and I always get it which means taking 1-2 months off between treatment cycles.  Then, preparing for IVF has been such a long process with all of the tests and paperwork; I am so happy that it is finally here and we are working towards our miracle 🙂

Off to an art fair with my hubby today, first one of the season and I am so excited!  I hope it is as beautiful where you are today as it is here.  Enjoy your Sunday! 🙂

About thepcosandinfertilityjourney

For almost two years I have felt so down and alone trying to maintain a normal and happy life since I realized that my husband and I would struggle to create a family. I began to second guess everything in my life, have I done the right things, made the right choices, is it my job, is it where I live, what is it and what can I do to make it better? Then, one night while laying in bed it hit me, and the words just started flowing. I have always loved writing and when I was little always wanted to be an author but never had the inspiration of something to write about; now I do. I am going to share my story, my struggles, my hopes, my fears, my triumphs in the hope that it will help someone else going through the same rollercoaster that I am the way many books, blogs, and chats have helped me cope. I will share with you how I am determined to make sure that one of my life’s dreams are not shot down and the obstacles I go through to get there.

4 responses »

  1. I am also doing IVF after being on a break since December. And I totally agree when you say you are happiest during treatments. I like that I’m being proactive and I have things to look forward too such as ultrasounds or starting a new medication. It makes the time go by faster for me.

    Good luck! I have my retrieval tomorrow. Very nervous and excited.

  2. The Dr was able to measure 12 good sized ones. She said there can be up to 15 so I’m hoping for more than 12. I can’t wait to find out how many we’re actually retrieved and fertilized.

Leave a Reply

