Going Chemical Crazy

Standard

I always swore I wouldn’t do it, I wouldn’t become one of those people who are constantly worried about every single toxin and chemical found in every aspect of our daily lives but it is starting to happen.  Every time I turn around I am reading something on the internet or in one of my magazines about the effects of chemicals on our bodies and health.  The biggest culprit for those of us suffering infertility seems to be BPA (or Bisphenol A).  I am buying glass, using less plastic, and checking labels all the time.  I am also becoming more conscious of foods even; for example I try to stay away from decaff (since having caffeine during IVF is a no-no) because there are more carcinogens in it.  I am beginning to think that I will make myself crazy soon.  I need to remind myself that if I can rid myself and my home of easily controllable chemicals a few wont hurt me.  Is anyone else finding themselves doing this same thing?  I guess when you are trying so hard for something it is so easy to focus on every little thing that may be having a negative impact on your desired result.  Ah well, one step at a time right?

Honestly though, if you have not heard about the effects that BPA can have on fertility please look into this.  BPA is found in many plastics such as food storage containers, lining of canned foods, and more.  Fortunately correcting the BPA toxins in your system is relatively easy and the results are quick.

On a more exciting note, I am so excited to go to the doctor’s Friday morning and hopefully get the all-clear to start my stimulation injections Friday evening!  I’m ready to get this show on the road!  I’m just worried because I haven’t started a cycle yet which I was supposed to after the birth control but that sometimes happens with PCOS (especially with me because I do not have a period without some sort of assistance such as progesterone supplements or after a stimulated cycle).  I just can’t wait to get this cycle started, I feel better about this time than I ever have before and I hope it stays that way!

About thepcosandinfertilityjourney

For almost two years I have felt so down and alone trying to maintain a normal and happy life since I realized that my husband and I would struggle to create a family. I began to second guess everything in my life, have I done the right things, made the right choices, is it my job, is it where I live, what is it and what can I do to make it better? Then, one night while laying in bed it hit me, and the words just started flowing. I have always loved writing and when I was little always wanted to be an author but never had the inspiration of something to write about; now I do. I am going to share my story, my struggles, my hopes, my fears, my triumphs in the hope that it will help someone else going through the same rollercoaster that I am the way many books, blogs, and chats have helped me cope. I will share with you how I am determined to make sure that one of my life’s dreams are not shot down and the obstacles I go through to get there.

2 responses »

  1. I drink bottled water all the time. You’ve just made me go :/ at my Evian bottle. I knew it wasn’t great. I didn’t know it was that bad!

  2. Hi Mina!

    Don’t fret! Disposable water bottles are many times safe. The way you can tell what chemicals are in your plastics and whether or not they are bad is by looking at the number inside of the recycle sign. Making a switch is easy though if you find you do have a problem. Buy a water filter of some sort and purchase water bottles that are “BPA Free” even many of those reusable cups with straws are, you just have to look at the bottom or on the label. To help you out below is a very useful list of the different types of plastics, what they are in, and if they are bad. I stole it from my friend’s blog @ freebumbaby.com. Hope it helps!

    The following information is great for use in every aspect of your life, not just in shopping for children’s toys.

    * #1 polyethylene terephthalate (PET, PETE)
    o used for making plastic bottles and food containers such as water, soft drinks, mustard and ketchup, peanut butter, salad dressings, etc.
    o there is conflicting evidence regarding whether or not this plastic leaches toxins (I choose to avoid this since it has not been proven completely safe.)
    * #2 high-density polyethylene (HDPE)
    o used for making milk jugs, juice and water bottles, plastic bags, cleaning product containers, etc.
    o this is considered a safe plastic
    * #3 polyvinyl chloride (PVC, vinyl)
    o used in plastic wrap, hair spray, detergents, nail polish, and building matierals such as pipes, siding, etc.
    o this type of plastic can leach phthalates (phthalates are found to disrupt the endocrine system) and is considered an unsafe and should be avoided
    * #4 low-density polyethylene (LDPE)
    o used in plastic bags and shrink wrap
    o unknown to leach toxins
    * #5 polypropylene (PP)
    o used in reusable food containers, bottle tops, etc.
    o this is considered a safe plastic
    * #6 polystyrene (PS)
    o used in disposable utencils, meat packaging, and other foam food containers
    o this has been known to leach multiple chemicals into foods, is considered unsafe and should be avoided
    * #7 Other
    o this category contains multiple materials, or everything not listed above. The following is copied directly from the Seventh Generation Blog Post, because I couldn’t word it any better! “One common #7 plastic is polycarbonate, a shatter-resistant material used in things like baby bottles and reusable water bottles. Polycarbonates readily leach a toxic compound called bisphenol-a (BPA) into food and drink. But new corn-based polylactic acid (PLA) plastics, which are generally recognized as safe, are also labeled #7. It can be hard to tell if a given #7 container is kitchen-safe without additional identifying information, so look for bottles that say they are BPA-free.”

Leave a Reply

