The Cruel World of Infertility

Standard

I just received word that a dear friend’s second fresh IVF cycle did not take.  My heart is breaking for her and her husband.  If there is anyone who deserves for this to work it is them.  They have tried so hard and have had so many heartaches.  This is the hard part of the infertility disease that so many women and men suffer from.  The trying, the waiting, and all too often, the heartbreak.  We put all of our faith, our hope, our energy, our money into a cycle and when it does not work our world can feel as if it is crashing down around us.  The hardest part, the part that separate’s an infertile woman’s strength from that of others, is picking up the next day and moving on.  Sometimes it takes a while to get over the grief, but we know that in order to move forward we must not forget, we just move on.

In light of so much frustration it is so difficult to stay positive, to stay focused.  How do we move on?  How do we find the strength to move forward?  I am not sure.  We just do.  There is something in all of us, something in our support system.  Somehow, when we wake the next day with an empty wine glass in our hands and tear stained cheeks we are able to see the sun is shinning and it’s a new day with new hopes, beginnings, and opportunities.  But it will never be fair.

About thepcosandinfertilityjourney

For almost two years I have felt so down and alone trying to maintain a normal and happy life since I realized that my husband and I would struggle to create a family. I began to second guess everything in my life, have I done the right things, made the right choices, is it my job, is it where I live, what is it and what can I do to make it better? Then, one night while laying in bed it hit me, and the words just started flowing. I have always loved writing and when I was little always wanted to be an author but never had the inspiration of something to write about; now I do. I am going to share my story, my struggles, my hopes, my fears, my triumphs in the hope that it will help someone else going through the same rollercoaster that I am the way many books, blogs, and chats have helped me cope. I will share with you how I am determined to make sure that one of my life’s dreams are not shot down and the obstacles I go through to get there.

Leave a Reply

