More Reasons to Avoid BPA

Standard

Are You Affected by a Hidden Cause of PCOS? Part 2

Last week we reported on how new research has produced disturbing evidence that women with PCOS are particularly vulnerable to an environmental chemical called bisphenol A (BPA). Known as an estrogenic hormone disruptor, it can’t be seen, smelt, heard or touched.

 

However, researchers in the UK and Greece discovered up to 50% more of the chemical in the bodies of women with PCOS than those without the condition. They linked BPA with testosterone levels and insulin resistance and concluded that BPA could be a partial cause of PCOS.

 

The insidious nature of BPA also appears to extend to pregnancy and beyond. In lab animals, BPA passes to the fetus from the mother. Fetuses have a severely limited capability to detoxify chemicals such as BPA, with a baby at increased risk for later problems.

 

For example, the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill has reported that two-year-old children of mothers with higher levels of BPA had more disturbed behavior patterns. This was more pronounced in female children than males.

 

If rodent studies are any clue, both male and female babies will tend to be less fertile when they become adults.

 

For example, the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina recently completed a study of baby female rats exposed to BPA. When the female rats became adults, researchers discovered that BPA exposure was associated with increased testosterone and estrogen, and reduced progesterone. This is an unbalanced hormone pattern commonly seen in teenage girls and women who have PCOS.

 

In addition, the exposed female rats had much reduced fertility, with their ovaries having large numbers of ovarian cysts.

 

Is there anything you can do? There are two things. Reduce your exposure to BPA, and try to get rid of the BPA you already have.

 

You can reduce your exposure by trying to find out where it is. BPA is used in a multitude of hard plastic products such as water bottles, food containers, infant bottles and medical equipment and supplies. BPA may also be found in the lining of canned foods and in many other non-obvious products such as thermal-printed cash register receipts and some dental sealants.

 

Reduce your use of canned foods and eat more fresh food instead. Try to use glass containers instead of plastic for food, water and beverages. Don’t use plastic bottles to feed your baby. Use glass instead. Especially avoid heating items in a plastic containers or bags when using a microwave. Heat can release even more BPA into the food.

 

It may be difficult to get rid of the BPA you already have, but it’s worth trying. Your liver can detoxify BPA and send it to the intestines for elimination. However, up to one-half of women with PCOS have livers that are infiltrated with fat, thus possibly slowing down the detoxification process.

 

However, a healthier diet with as many natural products as possible also helps. Unfortuntely, as detoxified BPA passes down your intestines into the colon, much of the BPA is reabsorbed back into the bloodstream and goes straight back to the liver, where it just came from. This problem is made worse if you tend to be constipated.

 

But if you consume a diet that is high in whole foods and fiber, you improve your chances of flushing out the BPA before it can be reabsorbed into the body.

Sincerely,
 
Christine DeZarn
Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome Association, Inc. (PCOSA)
 
About thepcosandinfertilityjourney

For almost two years I have felt so down and alone trying to maintain a normal and happy life since I realized that my husband and I would struggle to create a family. I began to second guess everything in my life, have I done the right things, made the right choices, is it my job, is it where I live, what is it and what can I do to make it better? Then, one night while laying in bed it hit me, and the words just started flowing. I have always loved writing and when I was little always wanted to be an author but never had the inspiration of something to write about; now I do. I am going to share my story, my struggles, my hopes, my fears, my triumphs in the hope that it will help someone else going through the same rollercoaster that I am the way many books, blogs, and chats have helped me cope. I will share with you how I am determined to make sure that one of my life’s dreams are not shot down and the obstacles I go through to get there.

Leave a Reply

